Overcoming Digressive Habits

Overcoming Digressive Habits - Mormon Doctrine Studies - Posted: 17th Mar, 2008 - 11:59pm

Text RPG Play Text RPG ?

Post Date: 19th May, 2005 - 5:09pm / Post ID: #

Each day we make decisions, but sometimes those decisions are made with very little thought simply because they have become habitual. What do you do specifically to do away with a digressive habit?

"There are some decisions that we need make only once. Having made the decision, we no longer need to wonder how we will act in that particular situation in the future. Decisions develop habits or patterns. . . . It is important that you know, at your age and experience in life, how to establish patterns that lead to eternal happiness."
Ref. "Establishing Eternal Patterns," Ensign, Oct. 2004, 32

Sponsored Links:
22nd May, 2005 - 4:20pm / Post ID: #

Habits Digressive Overcoming

I am an expert on the consequences of making choices - wether they be good or bad. Really, we all are experts of the choices we make, but so few of us acknowledge that the choices we are making (the bad ones) are not good for us and the ones we are avoiding (the good ones) are what we should be integrating into our life. For me this is a constant struggle, but let's focus on the digressive habits since that is the main theme of this thread. I find that the first and foremost way to attack a digressive habit is to acknowledge that it is digressive in the first place. I then look at the ways it is affecting my life and the benefits from avoiding such a habit. Then I start - little by little to do away with it until it is gone. This does not have to be only about something major like drug use, in the past this (the way I overcome digressive habits) has been used for such things as time wasting, eating badly, not doing a duty as I should, etc.

22nd May, 2005 - 7:12pm / Post ID: #

Overcoming Digressive Habits Studies Doctrine Mormon