Primary Presidency

Primary Presidency - Mormon Doctrine Studies - Posted: 28th Oct, 2006 - 10:18pm

Text RPG Play Text RPG ?

A male as part of it...
18th Sep, 2006 - 6:45pm / Post ID: #

Primary Presidency

Primary Presidency

What is your view, do you think it is okay to call a male to the Primary Presidency?

Sponsored Links:
18th Sep, 2006 - 7:13pm / Post ID: #

Presidency Primary

I do not think the General Handbook of Instructions mentions anything about this, so I suppose a Bishop can indeed call a male in a Primary Presidency. A long time ago, I would tell you that I do not see a problem with that but nowdays, I would tell you: No *thankyouverymuch*.

18th Sep, 2006 - 11:12pm / Post ID: #

Primary Presidency Studies Doctrine Mormon

Now, see, that is discrimination, based upon a VERY few examples.

When I was working in the primary, as a temporary teacher, I had a very good rapport with the children. The Primary President asked to have me called as one of her counselors. Our Bishop told her that since women have so few opportunities for leadership positions, that it was strongly discouraged to have men receive those callings.

Now, it didn't hurt my feelings at all. But it did make me think about things. If the Primary President prayed about who she should call, and felt that it was right to call a man to that position, I don't think it is right for the Bishop to just dismiss it, at least not without a real reason, or a lot of prayer.

19th Sep, 2006 - 12:11am / Post ID: #

Presidency Primary

Nighthawk, believe me there are NOT few examples where I live. Right now, one of the reasons JB has to stay with Felipe in Primary during Sunday School is because of the same reason.

Now concerning your experience, I supposed the Bishop saw it as a "waste" to call you in such calling where probably he may need you in other position but again I agreed that if the President prayed and your name came up then it should not be a problem.